Make "Limits and Validation" feature available to Webmin users

Regular Webmin users need to be able create, edit and delete virtual servers. At the same time it gets messy when they start playing with system settings.

I didn't want the regular Webmin users to be able to change important Virtualmin's system settings, so set "No" for the "Can edit module configuration?" option on the "Virtualmin Virtual Servers access control options" page (Webmin). That hid the "System Settings" block for a regular Webmin user (desired effect), however it also made Delete and Disable functions not available giving the:

You are not allowed to edit this virtual server

error. So first of all the wording of the message above is not correct since clicking on the "Edit virtual server" link shows all the options available. Secondly, I believe Delete and Disable functions are incorrectly bound to "Edit module configuration" permissions. I believe they should be in the same group with "Create virtual server" and "Edit virtual server" since Deleting or Disabling a virtual server has nothing with configuring Virtualmin's settings.

Edit: Seems not only Delete and Disable, but also several other features related to virtual servers are incorrectly associated with Virtualmin's system settings like:

Limits and Validation
Backup and Restore

Fortunately, two other features - Import or Migrate and List Virtual Servers pertaining to virtual servers are still there.

I agree that the following features:

System Settings
Email Messages
System Customization
Addresses and Networking

are indeed system settings (since you can configure things there) and should be hidden when the "Can edit module configuration?" option is set to "No", however:

Limits and Validation
Backup and Restore

are not configuration sections, they are functions directly related to virtual servers, so should stay available to Webmin users who can create virtual servers. Please consider this request to decouple virtual servers related functions from configuration sections.

Status: 
Closed (fixed)

Comments

Title: Decouple "Disable and Delete" functions from "Can edit module configuration?" option's permissions » Decouple "Disable and Delete" functions for virtual servers from editing Virtualmin's configuration permissions
Body: View changes

Added additional text to the body of the text above.

Can you tell me more about what you're trying to setup here? Are you looking to create a virtualmin user who can create, edit and delete any domain, but cannot edit global settings?

Can you tell me more about what you're trying to setup here? Are you looking to create a virtualmin user who can create, edit and delete any domain, but cannot edit global settings?

Yes, I'd like to create a Virtualmin user (which in fact a Webmin user as I understand) that is able to only manage everything that pertains the accosicated (with it) virtual server and that is not able to change any global settings for the system (Virtualmin, Webmin). It makes much sense to me to keep all the functionality features for virtual servers separate from configuration settings.

Yes, I'd like to create a Virtualmin user (which in fact a Webmin user as I understand) that is able to only manage everything that pertains the accosicated (with it) virtual server

But that's what a Webmin user created by Virtualmin is limited to be default (other than the deletion of top-level domains)?

Right, but why a Webmin user can create a domain and can not delete it? Why deletion function and also Limits and Validation, Backup and Restore (functions!) should be associated with Virtualmins system (configuration!) settings? It really would make much sense to de-couple all functions from configurations.

I believe if one is allowed to create virtual server (domain) then he should be able to edit, validate, backup, restore and delete it. And this should have nothing with Virtualmin's system configuration settings.

Body: View changes

Any updates on this? Jamie, please run some tests - it really doesn't make sense to mix up features (functions) with configurations. And then if you allow someone to create a virtual server then s/he should be able to also edit, backup, delete or anything with it.

Ok, forget about deleting the top level domain. But why really Webmin users can not enjoy using the Limits and Validation, Backup and Restore features?

Title: Decouple "Disable and Delete" functions for virtual servers from editing Virtualmin's configuration permissions » Make "Limits and Validation" feature available to Webmin users
Category: Bug report » Task
Related issues: +#43282: Use custom backup directory instead of virtualmin-backup

Somehow "Backup and Restore" feature was made available to Webmin users (though not without issues as discussed on https://www.virtualmin.com/node/43282), which is already good. So now, what about "Limits and Validation" feature? Why Webmin users should not be able to validate their websites to identify configuration issues?

Can you clarify what you mean by "Webmin user" ? Do you mean the Webmin login associated with a top-level virtual server?

Yep, the user that has Webmin login right. S/he can now use "Backup and Restore" feature, but can not use "Limits and Validation" feature.

Ok, I'll look into adding this

This has been implemented - an option to allow domain owners to perform validation will be included in the next (5.05) Virtualmin release.

Status: Active » Fixed